Inaugurated on October 11, 1922, the station was formerly known as Dashanjiao Station. The sand hills nearby are ideal for growing water melons. During the Japanese Rule, the station was mainly used for transporting rice.
The building, both on the outside and the inside, demonstrates the social and cultural elements of the times. It is one of the few remaining Japanese-Western wooded stations in Taiwan and a classic example of small train stations during the Japanese Rule.